Awards Winners


Awards Winners

PRESS RELEASE                                                                                 

Northamptonshire Law Society Awards produces winners by the “case load”.

The brightest and the best of the Northamptonshire legal community were honoured at the 2nd Northamptonshire Law Society Awards.

Solicitors from across the county, were honoured before an audience of their peers at The Marriott Hotel, Northampton, at the Society’s annual dinner.

The event was compered by BBC Radio Northampton’s John Griff and awards presented by Caroline McGann, President of Northamptonshire Law Society.

Miss McGann said: “It has been a very difficult few years for all of us and particularly for legal aid lawyers. Not only have we had to face the economic downturn, new legislation designed to prevent access to justice  but also a changed market with new rules and new competitors all of whom thought they knew how to do it better than us.

But the game changers have learned that the myth that we are just lawyers who didn’t know how to run businesses was just that - a myth. Running a business is at the core of what we do but we are also excellent lawyers. She also praised the many talented lawyers in Northamptonshire”.


Junior Lawyer:  Mrs Lynsey Ward – DW Solicitors. Mrs Ward received such praise from her clients that she was the outstanding candidate for this award.

The Fiona Moore Solicitor of the Year award: Sarah Canning – Franklins Solicitors.

Fiona Moore was President of Northamptonshire Law Society 2004, whose life was tragically cut short last year. This award is presented in her memory. Sarah studied law at Northampton and has been a partner with her current firm since 1997.  She is head of the litigation team and has extensive experience of litigation and alternative dispute resolution. She is also chair of the Northamptonshire branch of the Institute of Directors and was responsible for developing the IoD’s East Midlands Young Directors Forum. She is a board member of Northamptonshire Enterprise Partnership and an independent member of Northampton’s Audit Committee as well as being one of the Northamptonshire Ambassadors.


Large Firm of the Year:  Wilson Browne LLP. This year the award winner has provided a very strong case. A more user friendly website, continued good retention and development of staff, ongoing review of client satisfaction with strong participation in both the legal and wider community.

Small Firm of the Year: Ruth Taylor Family Law

This category produced 3 very strong finalists from smaller firms. All 3 firms were highly commended but it was the exceptionally committed and a relative newcomer that just edged the decision with a continuing individual high level of service it gives to its clients.

Lifetime achievement award: Murray Holmes. Former partner at DFA Law, Past President of the Society and well known and highly respected Criminal Lawyer.

The Annual prize to the best graduating law student from the University of Northampton in their final year was awarded to Tracy Fox.

For further information contact:

Caroline McGann, President, Northamptonshire Law Society or Phil Smith, Society Manager at or tel. 01604 585653.